Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

�and I�d like to thank my producer, my agent�

Thursday, Mar. 11, 2004
10:51 p.m.
Having just returned from the theatre, I can safely say that I dress extremely conservatively. Okay, this requires a bit of explanation, which you shall have, fear not.

My son, whom I have started calling Buddy Boy for no apparent reason, is acting in the university�s current production of MacBeth (or �The Scottish Play� as it is known in more superstitious circles [� la Black Adder, no less]). His main claim to fame is the role �Boy�, being the son of MacDuff, and gets offed, along with his mother, siblings and all the servants as MacBeth develops more paranoias than Howard Hughes. He also had various r�les as servants, messengers, and the like, and was really very good. I attended this performance all by myself, my husband being in Toronto for the launch of a CD on which his music is implicated, and my daughter claiming to have homework, but I think really looking for an opportunity to be alone with her boyfriend, who somehow managed to wrangle an invitation for dinner. Sigh.

There were in the audience many university students, and some of them were dressed in clothing that made me blush. My question is: Why does it seem to be the least attractive girls who draw the most attention to themselves with outrageous attire? Am I missing something here? Truth to tell, I have been wearing my new leather trousers for the past couple of days, finally having shortened them (I had to cut off 5"!). I have even received some unsolicited compliments on them, the most recent being from Steve, a gay drama student who did a music minor. Even Vlad commented on how �sexy� they were. Not bad for a middleaged fuddy-duddy.

Just a note here, since it�s late and my brain is starting to turn to mush, but since I have been keeping this journal in Diaryland, I realize more and more that I am not alone in the world. There are people out there, widely scattered geographically, who have interests akin to mine, and with whom, were I to meet them in real life, I would probably want to be friends. If I were only interested in keeping a diary, I could do it on my own, using a word-processing program, or old-fashioned paper; but I have chosen this most public forum in which to express myself and expose my ideas to the world at large. I often get inspiration for my entries from other people�s diaries, sparking reminiscences and allowing me to tell stories that would otherwise remain untold and forgotten. As the list of people who read me grows, and as I add more diaries to my own favourites, this feeling of connectedness is reinforced. I have never advertised my diary, and yet somehow, albeit slowly, I am gathering an audience. I can only hope that what I have to say is entertaining, edifying, and that I do not disappoint. Thank you all for encouraging me in this endeavour.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>