Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

�Habla Espa�ol?

Saturday, Mar. 6, 2004
12:07 p.m.
All my notes and books are spread out on the kitchen table waiting for me to get started on this seminar. For those of you for whom preparing lectures is a daily ordeal, let me just say that I graduated with an undergraduate degree in 1982, and while I earned my masters and doctorate vicariously through the intimate coaching of my man while he was actually acquiring those degrees on paper, I have not had to deliver a seminar since that aforementioned year. As a matter of fact, I think the last one I gave was on the lute songs of Elizabethan composers, quite a far cry from my current field of study. (Upon rereading this paragraph, I realize that I did give a seminar while Hubby was in grad school, to his composition class on the tools and techniques of music copying. That would have been in 1983 or 1984.)

In order to celebrate our completion of the score and parts, Hubby and I went out for dinner. First stop was Restaurant Chez Linh, a wonderful Viet Namese eatery which has gone upscale since it moved out of its original premises, and was reservation-only seating when we got there. Fortunately we met an acquaintance of ours (remember Jane?) who recommended Resto Mexicain just farther down King Street. It looks like a recent business undertaking and the store could undergo some serious renovations.

We were greeted by a Mexican man speaking quaintly-accented French who was serving many customers all by himself, and kept getting the orders mixed up. He brought a Sprite to our table, which we hadn�t ordered and had to refuse. Hubby ordered a tequila margarita, which he enjoyed so much that he ordered another. He wasn�t yet finished that one when the maitre d� brought him a third, which he politely refused. My �Inca soup� was absolutely delicious. I could make just a meal from that stuff. The vegetarian taco and Californian burrito (mine and Hubby�s respectively) came with rice, salad and refried beans, and were too much food. I had to leave some on my plate, as did Hubby. But the bill for everything, including another appetizer of nachos with cheese and my mango juice, came to just $35.00. That also includes the two alcoholic beverages. Not bad. If our Mexican students don�t already know about this place, we�ll have to bring it to their attention.

On the walls were Mexican folk costumes: two dresses and a gent�s outfit. The dresses were gorgeous. The one in my line of sight was black with a colourful medallion print all over it. The top had a cape-like, off-the-shoulder upper with a fitted bodice, and the skirt was round and long with those medallions marching in rows all around it. The dress on the wall behind me was also black with a fitted bodice and round skirt, but it was sewn all over with colourful ribbons in zig-zag designs. I coveted both of them. At the table next to us were two couples with one baby, who was very well behaved for the most part. What was interesting was that the two women were white and anglophone, and the two men were black and francophone. Their French didn�t sound local, and we do have many immigrants in this area from other French-speaking countries, Viet Nam being one in particular. The baby was cute as a button, and gave me an enormous smile as his daddy was putting his coat on him. It made me all warm and fuzzy inside! Don�t get your hopes up, no more babies for me!

The outside temperature is steadily rising, which is a good sign. It rained most of yesterday, but the world is still covered with white, although it�s starting to get stale looking, if you know what I mean. At least the roads are now clear and the parking lots are no longer skating rinks. I was playing literati with a man from England yesterday afternoon who said that it rarely snows there, and when it does the country grinds to a standstill. I just had to laugh. These people I meet on-line really need to travel more.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>