Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I hate copying!

Wednesday, Mar. 3, 2004
12:46 a.m.
Well, it is now after midnight, but at exactly 11:58 p.m., I finished printing out the Double Bass part. Yahoo! We are not finished folks, by a long shot. I still have tons (and I do mean tons) of corrections to do, to both the full score and all those lovely parts I just finished extracting. It turns out that the score is absolutely riddled with errors. Hubby is trying to see if he can find a mistake on every page. This is a little embarassing, considering that we�ve already sent a copy off to the conductor and the librarian.

Oh, and if that isn�t bad enough, this morning the librarian asked Hubby if he could rewrite the flute parts because they weren�t planning on hiring a piccolo player especially for this concert. Hubby said no way, he had asked the conductor and been assured that there would be a piccolo player on this concert. They are doing Berlioz�s Symphonie fantastique, and he was certain it had a separate piccolo player in it. Upon examining the score, he discovered that there are in fact only two flutists, and flute two doubles on piccolo. Sigh. Well, it�s too late, and he�s of the mind that if they won�t hire the extra player, he�ll withdraw the piece.

Tomorrow I am taking a break from the computer and I will go to the university library to work on my seminars. I haven�t breathed fresh air for days now, and the only exercise I�ve had is running up and down stairs to put the laundry on or make supper or use the toilet. We had a couple of absolutely gorgeous days and I missed out on them because I was stuck in the attic here copying. The weather is changing now. It rained today and then the wind picked up tonight. Hubby predicts that we�re in for more freezing weather. Please, no thank you!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>