Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sssssssssssnakes, anyone?

Wednesday, Mar. 3, 2004
8:41 p.m.
True to my word, I spent several hours in the library scribbling notes from Barbara G. Walker�s Dictionary of Symbols and Sacred Objects and The Woman's Encyclopedia of Myths and Secrets. I learned more about serpents in mythology than I ever wanted to know. For instance, the caduceus which many medical associations use as their symbol because it was Asclepius� staff with the serpent entwined around it, as well as Apollo�s wand, is a much older symbol, and is found in practically every mythology around the world. The twining snakes around a central shaft is analogous to the Kundalini serpent uncoiling itself from where it sleeps in the pelvis and twines its way up the mystic spine through the Chakras when awakened through Yogic practices. Images of feathered or winged serpents abound. I have way too much material for one seminar here, that�s for darn sure. I�ll just have to whittle it down to the really interesting stuff.

This brings up the question as to what I will do for the final project. Patsy has not demanded a research paper, although that is a perfectly acceptable solution. Instead, she will accept practically anything. Two women will be dancing their final projects, and one more will be presenting some kind of performance art. The girl whose seminar was on Celtic goddesses is writing a children�s story. The woman in the other class who is investigating goddess clothing will probably design and sew a costume. I have toyed with the idea of making an oil painting, or a sculpture, but I�m not sure of what. The image of the Lamia, a serpent with a woman�s face and breasts, intrigues me. It really intrigues me, and this would be a fabulous subject for a clay sculpture. I think I�ll go talk to Jim and see if I can use the sculpture studio and buy a bit of plaster and cement. The more I think of this, the more excited I actually get.

I also have to come up with some kind of image suitable for hanging on a tree (like a Brumalia ornament) related to my Medusa seminar. I don�t want it to be the run-of-the-mill Gorgon mask, but I haven�t thought beyond that yet. That�s the one I should be worrying about, not the other, since it has to be ready at the same time as my seminar. Hmmmm� I�ll have to think about this one. It�s so great talking to you guys, you are just so supportive and sympathetic.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>