Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m not even sure that the spirit is willing�

Monday, Mar. 1, 2004
7:40 a.m.
The saying that opposites attract is probably true in the case of my husband and me. We are very different in so many ways, although after 21 years of marriage we have bridged quite a bit of the distance. But one way in which we differ markedly is our perception of time. I am a Type A personality: generally uptight, in a hurry, impatient, except behind the wheel of a car when I can wait quite patiently for a break in the traffic. Hubby is usually a Type B personality: generally laid back, not in a hurry, except when he is behind the wheel of a car. Then watch out! On one of the very few occasions when I have partaken of an illegal substance with my husband before we were married, I was impressed by the difference in the way time passed for each of us. The one thing I have noticed about marijuana is that it heightens your senses, but only one at a time. I would be looking at my watch constantly, and getting more and more frustrated because only a few minutes had expired. Hubby was all �wow� because time was passing so quickly for him. It was after this that I decided I would never get high with him again.

He still perceives time differently from me. If we go to a store and I wait in the car after being assured that he will be �only a moment�, it can be 15 minutes to half an hour before he reappears. Whereas if I say I will be a moment, I am. Now, what all this comes down to is planning ahead, i.e. estimating how much time is needed for certain projects. Generally speaking I will allow myself more time than is strictly necessary because I allow for things going wrong, and other unforeseen delays. Hubby, on the other hand, does not plan realistically, hence I am only now working on the parts for this orchestra piece when by rights the players should have had them weeks ago. You see, it�s not that he�s a slow composer, but he doesn�t plan for the extra time his other activities take up, as well as the little things that cut into his composing time. He was getting concerned because I was quite far behind him in the copying of the score, but I finished my part only a day after he finished his, and he was proofreading what I had previously copied while I was finishing.

But I am concerned now about getting these parts extracted and off to the librarian, not because I have slowed down, but because other things are imposing themselves on my time. Even writing in my diary is a distraction that keeps me from doing my job. I should just stay away from this computer, not even turn it on, until the fait is accompli. I will try, but I am weak.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>