Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A short respite and reverie

Sunday, Feb. 29, 2004
5:25 p.m.
I am taking a break before I tackle bassoons. So far I have extracted flutes, piccolo and clarinets (which I had to transpose [ptui, ptui, ptui!]) and found further mistakes in the score itself. For instance, the tempo indication right at the beginning is supposed to be �Mysterioso, quarter-note equals 150�, and somehow the quarter-note got left out, so it just says �Mysterioso =150�. The conductor has been sent a copy of said score, and will probably have his own comments. Oops.

It looked like a beautiful day. Reading harri3tspy�s entry and seeing those pictures of AJ make me want to go for a walk. Sadly the sun has already set, so for all of you who have seen Disney�s The Little Mermaid, IT�S TOO LATE, BWA HA HA HA HA! Hopefully I�ll get to the library soon to work on those seminars. I�m really starting to feel pressured. Why, oh why do these things all come down on me at the same time, why?

While soaking in the tub (yes I had time for that, at least) I read about human parasites in Uncle John Plunges into the Universe, the kind you find in tropical climates, and even hookworm from walking barefoot on the beach in Florida. I know I complain about the winter, but at least here in Canada we have only one poisonous snake, the massasauga rattler, one poisonous spider, the black widow, and that is it. We don�t have 4-foot-long guinea worms that bore holes through your extremities on their way out, or botflies that produce inch-long larvae that exit through your skin, or any number of other disgusting parasites which feed on human tissue. Ugh. So, while we�re freezing here in the great white north, dying from flu and pneumonia and just plain depression from lack of sunlight, at least we�re parasite free. Insects never grow very large up here, we don�t have to worry about scorpions hiding in our shoes, and all the dangerous beasties are hibernating the winter long. There are worse things than frostbite, believe me.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>