Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I admit I am a cheap drunk!

Saturday, Feb. 28, 2004
11:29 p.m.
I am recovering from champagne poisoning, if such a thing is possible. We dined tonight at Vlad and David�s, having been invited at (what I would call) the last minute yesterday. Dinner was fine: avocado-leak soup, barbecued salmon, candied baby carrots and rice with a chocolate mousse cake and whipped cream dessert. Unfortunately, my plate was placed before me fully loaded and while I valiantly finished all my vegetables and rice, I could only consume about one quarter of the salmon. Can�t people see that I am tiny? I had one glass of red wine with dinner, and one glass of champagne between the main course and dessert, and I considered myself inebriated.

The other guests were a very nice couple: she is a pianist, he is a retired school teacher. She had come down with the flu that afternoon and really should have stayed home. Just as we were about to dig into our salmon she announced that she really had to go lie down, and that was the last we saw of her until it was almost time to go home. I just hope we do not now get sick. Otherwise the evening was lots of fun, the conversation scintillating, and I told a couple of very off-colour jokes which were received with a great deal of hilarity.

But, as I mentioned, champagne was imbibed, and it always leaves me with a headache which I am experiencing right now. So I believe I will end this epistle and head off to bed where the warmth of my down comforter will wrap me in oblivion and I will sleep until my overfull bladder forces me out of my sublime slumber.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>