Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Karina Gauvin is a soprano goddess.

Thursday, Feb. 26, 2004
11:13 p.m.
Actually, that could be my entire entry. Period. She gave her rescheduled recital tonight with her accompanist Michael McMahon, who is an accompanying god (that might be a little bit like a consort, but let�s not go there). They performed Schumann�s Liederkreis cycle on the first half, and it was spell-bindingly beautiful. The second half was all French, starting with Chausson�s Chanson perpetuelle, which I know oh so well, having performed it many years ago and now teaching it to my student who will do it on her recital in two weeks. The depth of emotion and vocal colours were stirring. Then she performed Fian�ailles pour rire by Poulenc, a cycle which I have never really liked, mostly because I do not really like Poulenc�s music that much. But in her mouth, with Michael playing, it worked much better than I have ever experienced it in concert. They followed this up with a bunch of songs by Erik Satie, very cute, often funny, pieces. I must investigate this repertoire, as it�s not heard that often and there are many pieces which are suitable for students. Of course the audience went wild and we got two encores for our standing ovations: F�tes gallantes by Poulenc, and the Copland arrangement of Long Time Ago. The latter was a perfect ending for the recital.

There was a reception afterwards where the audience got to meet the artists, always a nice touch. Tomorrow morning Michael starts his masterclasses for the piano students at 9:00, and Karina joins him at 10:30 to start working with the singers. I would like to get there early since Michael is such a genius as a vocal coach, and I can learn all sorts of fun things from him.

But upon arriving home we found the sink piled high with dirty dishes which our only begotten son did not wash in our absence, so I have acquiesced to Hubby�s request to dry if he washes. So I am off to perform my own role as a domestic goddess.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>