Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Its amazing, I cannot walk by this magic box without sitting down in front of it and checking my buddy list.

Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2004
8:51 a.m.
Unca Don was here last night. This is Hubby�s next older brother who is the regional boss of a company that installs air purification systems in industrial/university/medical complexes. His region covers an immense area, and we happened to be on his route from one meeting to the next. It�s always an occasion when Unca Don arrives. He brought a bottle of California zinfandel, which went very well with the meal I prepared of barbecued salmon, hot-buttered orzo and saut�ed broccoli. After supper I returned to my corrections at the Quadra, and the two brothers whooped it up on the electric guitars.

The first set of corrections are done! You can all breathe a collective sigh of relief. The next stage is for Hubby to proofread my newly printed pages before we can give the score to the printshop to enlarge it. This is proving a problem as we (I include myself, although I have yet to experience presbyopia) age, since I print a reduced copy on 8.5x14" paper, being all that my printer can handle. The printshop then enlarges it to 11x17", which makes a fine conductor�s score. Hubby has a helluva time reading those tiny noteheads and musical directions. He has instructed me next time (that is, next orchestra piece) to print full-sized, tiled pages. It uses more paper, but at least he can then see.

Ah yes, I was en route to emptying the garbage cans as today is trash collection day. Have you noticed how some things seem to make your life go by that much faster? I remember when I was first on the pill in my teens and every day popped a tablet out of a numbered slot on a plastic container built like a dial. I was literally counting the days of my life pass by. I think I would be happiest in a calendarless society where everyday was exactly the same and time passed incredibly slowly. In the opening chapter of The Plague by Camus, the narrator describes a man who would purposely stand in lineups and engage in otherwise meaningless and boring activities because it slowed down time subjectively. It makes sense.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>