Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I do not need a life, I already have too much of one as it is!

Monday, Feb. 23, 2004
8:16 a.m.
Sometimes I would like to be able to chunkify my life. For instance, as mentioned yesterday I have tons of corrections to do to Hubby�s score. The symphony librarian is breathing hotly down his neck wanting the parts, which I can�t extract until the corrections are completed, the score proofread yet again, and further corrections made. Then the parts have to be extracted and further proofread. Of course, they will find more errors in the first rehearsal. This is the way of the music copying business. However�

Today is Monday. This morning I have to go shopping for supplies, I have my goddess class at 1:30, teach Emily at 3:00, take son for a haircut when I get home, have belly-dancing tonight� So, I ask you, when am I going to get those corrections done? Wouldn�t it be nice if I could just put all those things on hold and devote however many days it takes to getting this job done without having other aspects of my life infringe on my time? This is the last week of work before March break, and I have set aside that week in my mind to prepare my two goddess seminars without outside distractions and with clear access to the university library, which won�t be overrun with students because they will all have left town. Now it looks as though I will be stuck in front of the Quadra, not writing up my seminar, but extracting parts. All because this week is full of those things which fill up my days: teaching, class, belly dancing, writing group, and lest we forget, the inimitable *Karina*Gauvin* will be here on Thusday night for her concert and Friday all day she will give masterclasses at the department. I cannot stay away for any of that.

The new director for Musica Nova came over yesterday so that he and Hubby could set up the concert season for next year in order to submit the applications to Canada Council and CALQ for operating grants. I have been included on all three concerts, as soloist with choir, doing chamber music, and even on the electro-acoustic concert. I�m not complaining. One of the reasons Hubby and I agreed to get involved in Musica Nova again was so that we could perform more and he could showcase more of his music. The other artistic director has his own share of pieces programmed as well, plus the choral concert consists of his wife�s choir with her conducting. There are definitely perks to being on the board as well as being the composer�s wife.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>