Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Pants, pants, pants, pants, pants�

Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2004
3:24 p.m.
After talking about it and driving you all crazy, I have finally actually and in person done it. I am now the proud owner of a pair of black leather pants.

I happened like this. I went to Costo where I spent �way too much money, then headed over to the mall, because my Yves Rocher two-for-one coupon is still unredeemed. The store hasn�t restocked yet, so I could not spend my money there. Instead I started wandering in and out of stores, looking at merchandise, or more accurately, turning my nose up at the clothes the industry thinks women should be wearing. Blech! Walking past Danier, I noticed the SOLDE signs inside and thought to myself: Self, if you�re going to get those leather pants, now is as good a time as ever. So we entered the store, me, myself and I, and started fingering the merchandise. Let�s face it, leather is expensive, and even on sale it�s expensive. A helpful salesgirl appeared at my side, and I told her I wanted pants. She pointed some out, which were almost $300!!!!!!!!! I thanked her but said that I was looking for something a little less pricey. Whereupon she showed me a rack of pants marked at $199. This was still costly, but more reasonable, so I agreed to try on a pair.

The first pair she showed me revealed an expanse of below-bellybutton flesh that would be inappropriate in a matron of my appearance with stretch marks and a c�sarian-section scar, and I asked for something a little more modest, which she produced forthwith. The first pair I tried on was a size 6. They were enormous. Next I tried on a size 4, which fit very well indeed. The waist sits just below my navel, revealing that landmark but nothing south of it. They�ve got really interesting seaming, and I will have to shorten them by about four inches. The salesgirl assured me that in time the leather will �mold� itself to my body, and if I continue to lose weight they can always be altered at the sides. Yes, I plan on losing another pound, but at this point I don�t think it�ll make that big a difference.

I also bought a leather credit-card holder since mine is falling apart. When a leather store is having a sale, you take advantage of it. I also took advantage of the sale at Sports Experts (pronounce it as though it were French, okay?) and replaced my gloves which are getting rather moth-eaten looking. These too were leather, and were 20% off. So, all in all, I spent a great deal of money today, but feel as though I did very well for myself. So far I have managed to stay away from all things chocolate.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>