Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Okay folks, after having Explorer up and quit on me in the middle of an entry, I am ready to try again.

Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2004
10:04 a.m.
Yesterday, against my better judgment but goaded on by a love for the sweeter things in life, I indulged in a Cadbury Creme Egg, one of those confections that appear immediately after Xmas and disappear immediately after Easter. You know the ones: thick milk chocolate exterior, gooey yellow and white interior, absolute heaven in a red and blue foil wrapper. Unfortunately, ten minutes after consumption my gut started to rebel and made me feel remorse for my spontaneous splurge. How long ago now seem the days when I lived in Ann Arbor and Rita, Patty and I would walk up Main Street to Alexandria�s (of blessed memory), choose chocolate confections from the display case, then divide them ever so carefully into three so that we could all partake, and wash down the decadence with cappucino or espresso. Ah, youth.

Actually, I could blame my indulgence on Laurel who brought a box of Hershey Kisses to goddess class yesterday and started my craving. We have been examining the culture of ancient Crete, specifically the remains found in caves and at the �palace� at Knossos. There are all those beautiful depictions of priestesses or goddesses with snakes twining themselves about the arms and waist, the bare breasts and cinched-in waists, and the elaborate hair-dos. The appellation �Minoan� is a misnomer, of course, since it was tacked on by the Greeks who either invented or embellished the whole King Minos and the minotaur story in order to explain the architecture they found there. Recent arch�ologists believe that the �maze� found in the �palace� was really a symbolic journey in a religious sanctuary. From what has been found in other places in Greece, i.e. the maze underneath the tholos at Epidavros, these twisty, snake-like, passages helped the supplicant heal his psychological problems by taking an inner journey along with the unravelling of the labyrinth. I�m enjoying this class, if you couldn�t already tell.

Patsy bought a veil for her Intermediate I belly dancing class last night, a beautiful Chinese silk swath of almost sheer fabric in a stunning burgundy colour. I can just imagine her moving with this banner swirling around her. Now I want one! Truth to tell, I�m in love with so many of the belts hanging in the boutique, with their beading and spangles. I�m tempted to get one of the beaded bustiers, although I haven�t the foggiest when I would wear such a thing. But it would be so neat to own!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>