Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The old fuddy-duddy speaks

Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2004
6:45 p.m.
It�s finally happened. I came into the living room where my two teenaged children were chatting, and they became suddenly silent. I had just gotten comfy on the couch and said to them, �Would you rather I left so you can carry on your conversation?� and they replied, �Sure.� So I left. I have become a member of the older generation. I, who was always the first line of defence, the confidante to whom they both came with their troubles, the one who understood them no matter what and consoled without condemning or condoning, I have gone from being a friend to a parent. If this weren�t so darned funny, I would be devastated.

Also, while gathering the garbage to put on the curb this morning, I couldn�t help but notice that my daughter�s garbage can contained the remains of a starter pack of birth-control pills, consisting of the cardboard box, the little plastic envelope (so wasteful) and the empty bubble pack with all the pills popped out. I remember going to great lengths to dispose of my contraceptive garbage where my parents would not find it. It�s not as though as I was going through her garbage can, these were the only things in it!

So, what do I do, let her know that I know, or pretend that I don�t? It�s not as though I�m in a position to disapprove; I had a pretty wild and promiscuous youth myself. But I would like her to know that she can still come and talk to me, especially about sex and related subjects. I didn�t talk to my mother, and there were things I really needed to talk about, although later I found she couldn�t have helped me anyway. With regards to sex and sexuality, I have tons more experience than my mother did, and if my daughter is experiencing any of the problems I did, I could help her.

In other news, there is no news. I taught a couple of lessons today, went to my goddess class where we talked about Crete and looked at slides of the palace at Knossos (where I have been, by the way), made supper for the kids, drove them to karate, made supper for Hubby and myself, and now I look forward to an evening of music copying and Enterprise watching. If there is any ground-breaking news, I will let you know.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>