Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I ache in joints I didn�t know I had!

Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2004
9:00 a.m.
We practised rolling our bellies while walking on our toes last night. My lower back was screaming for mercy. We also practised shimmying while walking on said toes. I can�t shimmy on flat feet, let alone my toes. I also got stuck in Patsy�s driveway (with the Volvo since Hubby had taken the Subaru to Montreal for a performance of one of his pieces) and some neighbourhood kids came to the rescue and pushed me out. One of them was a friend of my daughter�s from elementary school and she was with one of her little brothers. We also had to stop for gas on the way since Hubby never gasses up that car and it was running on fumes. So we were late and missed part of the warm-up, which could account for the trouble I was having in my lower back.

And now you�re all on tenterhooks (schpielkes in Yiddish, literally carpet tacks) wondering about the results of my girlfriend�s email to her other best friend. K telephoned her at 3:30 p.m. Eastern time and I�ll let my friend tell it in her own words, �She phoned last night at 10:30 p.m. my time...and said she couldn't believe what she had read...no fissure, etc. She is just soooooooooooooooooooo busy...she is definitely on the road to a nervous breakdown. And she hates �relaxing� in front of the computer since that is how she spends her work-time; so she said if it requires, she will call me on the phone every couple of weeks so we don�t lose touch.� I said, �Why couldn�t she tell you this before without leaving you hanging?�, to which my friend responded, �Good question, but I don�t think she realized what her silence looked like to me. I sent her the FlyLady site�. From what she tells me, she definitely needs to find a way to destress.�

And that, friends, is it in a nutshell. So, a longstanding friendship was saved, a possible nervous breakdown averted, and all done through the wonders of technology. Sigh�

|

<~~~ * ~~~>