Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Why I don�t own a gun or other weapon of mass destruction

Sunday, Jan. 25, 2004
8:43 p.m.
The conseil d�administration for Musica Nova met today, and Pauline and Etienne officially stepped down, her as secretary/treasurer and him as artistic director. They are not even on the board anymore, although Pauline says she will help the new general manager with the bookwork and grant application process if he needs it. They still want to play with the ensemble, though, but I think they wouldn�t mind if even that was over too. Hubby expressed his desire to be an artistic director, as he was when he and the other two horny guys started the group, back in �89. This was fine with Marc O, who has taken over the general manager job, as well as artistic directorship. I think this is a good solution. Either that, or let the organization die a natural death. Let�s face it, 15 in the audience at the last concert does not bode for a healthy prognosis.

Hubby�s score for the new piece for the OSS grows apace, and I have only copied up to page 10. He informed me today that he has added piccolo, which means I have to go back to the beginning, add another staff to the score, and reformat all the pages where the piccolo plays. This is a royal pain in the ass because, while the inputting of music is not onerous in itself, all the cosmetic stuff is very, very timeconsuming. This includes the spreading out of staves so that information from Oboe 1 does not run into slurs and ledger lines from Oboe 2, and making sure that it simply looks good on the page. At least adding a new staff now is not as bad as if I still copied with pens and ink. I think if that were the case, I would soon find myself a widow, and in jail!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>