Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

We are Down Loading!

Sunday, Jan. 18, 2004
1:05 a.m.
As we speak I am reloading all the stuff back onto the hard disk of my iMac that I had to erase in the restore process. It is a pain in the ass, but it is a necessary pain in the ass. As well, this computer is back to old System 9, and I will have to go through the upgrading process to OS 9.2.2 once again. I feel a little wistful at having to get rid of OS X, but my son showed me how his games lagged a bit, and the upgrade was supposed to be to his advantage. So thank you, nice person out there, for supplying the software. How were we to know that this particular computer doesn�t have enough brawn to make the best use of it?

Anyway, I saw Grand Canyon tonight for the second time. We rented it many years ago and I thought it was a great movie then. After seeing it tonight, my opinion is confirmed. Kevin Kline is superb, Danny Glover is really fine, and Steve Martin is perfect as the jaded movie producer. What a truly great film. If you haven�t seen it, go to your local video store and rent it soon.

I must admit that I get inspiration from my fellow diarists, and tonight I have to thank ilonina for her contribution. Several years ago I was hired with my organist friend the Duchess to perform at the funeral of a retired school teacher. I did not know him, but had met his son once when he worked as the �arts� reporter for the local paper and interviewed Hubby and me when we first moved here just prior to our very first recital at Bushop�s. He delivered the eulogy for his father. I wished I had known him after hearing the young man speak. What a pity that we miss out on some fine people.

The reason this particular funeral stands out so well in my mind (and why I was reminded of it upon reading Ilonina�s entry) is that the deceased had been very specific about what was to be played at his funeral. There were the usual Catholic things (which I don�t remember), but then I sang My Wild Irish Rose and The Rose of Tralee. Lovely songs, but at a funeral? He also wanted the mourners to leave the church with a smile on their lips, and the postlude was none other than Skinnamarinky Dinkadink from that beloved Canadian children�s television show, �Sharon, Lois and Bram�. Ah yes, that is a funeral I will remember always.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>