Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It�s effing cold, again

Thursday, Jan. 8, 2004
8:51 a.m.
The mercury seems to be stuck this morning at a frigid -25�C. The wind-chill is supposed to lower that to -40�. Okay, seriously folks, why do I live here? This is a rhetorical question, by the way. I know why I live here: the other seasons are great (except when it�s too hot in the summer [temperate zone my ass!] or rains for days at a time), free health care, good schools, Hubby makes a good salary, and I actually get to teach singing, something I wouldn�t be able to do at any other university anywhere. Every-so-often Hubby gets discouraged about this, that, and the other and says we should go to a bigger centre where he could get his music played more often and he could hobnob with his fellow wizards. But I get a stab of cold inside at these words, because I know that in a larger town I would just be another soprano, another singing teacher, and I don�t have the academic credentials to teach in a university, regardless of all my years of experience. So I am happy to stay here in our small town, even though it means I will never hit the big time.

When Hubby was on sabbatical in 1999 and we lived in Greece for three and-a-half months, there was a week in March when he had to fly to Winnipeg for a premiere by one of their orchestras and I was left with the kids in our flat in Kalithea. It rained every single day that he was gone. It was absolutely miserable. The day that he returned was the first in a week when the sun actually came out, and he found it hard to believe my story that we had been drowned rats while he was away. The moral of this little anecdote is: the weather sucks in lots of places, not just here.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>