Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A Family Photo

Thursday, Jan. 8, 2004
6:41 p.m.
I am so thrilled that I can now put pictures in my diary, and so very grateful to tcklyrpharsn for all her help. The one from earlier today was taken abour four years ago. There�s a maple tree growing in the front yard of my parents� house that was planted as a nursery whip when I was just a little girl. So of course it was never big enough for us kids to climb when we were growing up. It wasn�t until I started bringing my own kids around to visit my parents that it became a climbing tree. Mind you, my brother who lives near them had been up in it with his kids, and also doing pruning jobs. But I never climbed it until I was a grown woman in my late 30�s. I think I must have been about 42 in that picture. We�re a young-looking bunch in my family.

My big brother who lives afar was visiting, and I had made a special trip to Toronto to see him and my folks (my dad was still very much alive then, and the knee had only just started bothering him). He took several photos that day, including the following with a timer on the camera. In it are my parents, big brother (the beardo), middle brother and myself. I love this picture.

Apart from chatting on MSN and learning how to post pictures, today was mostly unproductive. None of my great projects panned out, and the most energy-sapping thing I did was run up and down stairs to make sure that the fire in the wood stove was going strong. I have better intentions for tomorrow, but you know where a road paved with intentions leads.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>